Tags

, ,

Have to say I am pretty excited, I made my first ever cheese.  My dad used to make his own cheese and yoghurt when I was younger and I always loved the strong soft cheese taste that came from this fermentation process.

image

This recipe is so simple that it will become a regular at our house. It basically tastes  and looks like ricotta cheese but with a stronger taste. All you need is some kefir milk and a straining tool to separate the whey and curds.

image

  • 1 cup milk kefir with the kefir grains removed
  • Coffee filter
  • Nut bag ( you can just use the coffee filter but the nut bag by itself is not fine enough to separate the curds and whey – I used the nut bag so I could do one last squeeze easily before transferring it to the fridge)

image

  1. Pour the kefir milk into the filter and let drain for 12- 24 hours.  I left mine on the kitchen bench, this produced a strong taste, but you can place it in the fridge which will produce a milder taste as this slows the the fermentation process while milk separates.

image

That is all there is to it.  By the next day you have a great tasting soft cheese and some whey.  basically 1 cup of Kefir milk makes about 1/2 cup of cheese.

I am going to use my whey to ferment some more vegetables.

image

This is a great site to find out more about kefir:

http://www.culturedfoodlife.com/the-trilogy/kefir/what-is-kefir/

