Tags

, , ,

image

Had a go at making coconut yoghurt from scratch. Investigated heaps of recipes on the net -there seemed to be 2 main types – ones that use thickening agents and ones that didn’t. I decided to try one without a thickener, the recipe reviews seemed mixed as half the readers said theirs did not set, but being an optimist I thought I would start off without the thickener. Really simple recipe and tasty but it did not set. So decided it would be perfect to use in a smoothie. Read so much lately about the health benefits of turmeric so thought I would give it ago.

1 cups coconut yoghurt ( can sub any milk or yoghurt option if preferred e.g almond milk)
1 banana
1/2 cup frozen mango
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp coconut oil
1 tbs maple syrup ( optional)

Blend till smooth.

This was so filling I had a glass for breakfast and I was not hungry till 2pm,

To make home made coconut yoghurt
1 can quality coconut cream (450g)
2 probiotic pills
2 tbs maple syrup

I added these to a yoghurt maker and let sit for 12 hours. Next time I will try adding a thickener either gelatine or arrowroot flour.

